Primal Pictures Anatomy & Physiology online features 3D computer graphic models of human anatomy, dissection and radiology slides, images, animations and movie clips of biomechanics, surgical procedures and extensive text and illustrations, with feedback of learning provided by quizzes in a variety of formats.
Getting started
You will be required to login using your college network credentials. If you are accessing off site you will need to long on via institution using Shibboleth.
On the homepage you will see a series of icons which will allow you to select topics relating to Human anatomy and physiology. In each section there are different areas relating to your chosen topic, these include case studies, clinical, ageing and interactive quizzes which allow you to assess your learning.
Once you have selected your topic you can;
Annual Reviews Provide review research literature in 50 disciplines for the biomedical, life, physical and social sciences. The articles are written by leading scholars who are dedicated to helping scientists and researchers navigate the vast amount of research and data that is available to them. Their aim is to synthesis & integrate knowledge of the progress of science and the benefit of society.
Annual Reviews is used by researchers, students, business people, journalists, policy makers and practitioners to provide an authentic overview of the chosen topic.
To access this resource you will need to log in by institution, to do this simply start to type in Wigan & Leigh College in to the text box on the welcome page and select from the options provided. You will then be asked to log in with your usual college log on details, you must accept the terms and conditions before being able to proceed.
Website overview
Article overview
The Applied Science & Technology Full Text database gives you access to indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997, including page images that provide access to original illustrations, charts and photographs. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties such as; acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more, from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories and conference proceedings.
Getting started
You will be required to login using your college network credentials.
You can perform a basic search by entering a keyword, title or author. Once you have selected an item from the search results you will be able to
Please see the how to guide below for detailed information.
The Biological Science Database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world including, scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.
For those researchers who need to conduct comprehensive literature reviews, this database includes specialized, editorial-controlled A&I resources for discovery of relevant scholarly research and technical literature critical to the discipline.
Once you have accessed the database it is recommended that you create an account this will allow you to save documents and access at a later date. To create an account you will need to;
The British Periodicals database gives you access to full text historical periodicals which date back to the 17th century. It covers topics such as;
Once you have accessed the database you are advised to create an account, this will allow you to save items and refer back to them. To do this you will need to;
CINAHL (Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature) database provides indexing of the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. Literature covers a wide range of topics including;
In addition, the CINAHL Database provides access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters. It includes full-text journals, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, research instruments and clinical trials.
This database allows you to;
 |
Co Kinetic is a research resource tailored for Physical and Manual therapists, it covers, student, physical and massage therapist and gives you access to;
Please note that your initial log on will need to be done on College campus using the colleges IP address Via VPN Access. You will be required to create an account using your college email address (U10xxxxxx@wigan-leigh.ac.uk).
Every 3 months your institution content permissions will "reset" . All you need to do to reactivate access to your Institution content is to revisit the Co-Kinetic site from the original IP address on college campus.
 |
Core gives you access to thousands of open access research papers. Simply perform a search for your chosen topic.
 |
Credo Reference gives you access to full-text dictionaries, encyclopedias, and other reference books.
You can explore topics such as
This resource allows you to view, print and save mindmaps, create refrences, add items to a bookshelf and print pages. It also has a narrative function if required.