Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Referencing Guide: Bibliographies and Reference Lists

Bibliographies and Reference Lists

Bibliographies and Reference Lists

You will need to provide a list that contains the full details of the sources of information that you have cited in the main body of your work.  This list will appear in the form of a Reference List and/or Bibliography and will be placed at the end of your assignment .

A Reference List  should only contain details of the sources that you have actually cited (with in-text citations) within the body of your work.

Bibliography on the other hand, should, strictly speaking, contain details of the sources of information that you have cited in the body of your work, plus details of any other source material that you have used to help you to complete your assignment (for example, for general background reading), but not actually cited within the body of your work.

It is normal practice for tutors to ask students to include one of these at the end of their assignments.

However, some tutors actually prefer their students to include a Reference List that contains details of the sources that have actually been cited in the body of the assignment, plus, a separate Bibliography that lists just the additional (non-cited) sources that have been used!

Please make sure that you ask you tutor what is required!

qq General Guide to Referencing: A - Z menu