Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Twitter - keep up to date with Learning Resources
Keep up to date with all that's happening in Learning Resources. Join us on twitter @LRCWiganLeigh
A selection of useful guides for your students including -
Short videos -
- accessing your personal storage drive (w) from home,
- booking a computer in Learning Resources
- free install of office365
Help Guides -
- create a Hyperlink
- create a New Folder
- create an EXCEL chart
- insert a picture in MS Word
Click on the How To Guide icon to access the videos and help guides.
If you have any suggestions for additional videos or help guides please see any member of the Learning Resources team.
Training Sessions - Group or One-to-One
There are various sessions available for you to book for you or your students.
Below are just a few examples of sessions available -
A short, introductory session and welcome tour to give an overview of the facilities available. This session is recommended as standard for all students.
These individual sessions are an opportunity for students to de-velop sound information and research skills, including searching the library catalogue, using e-books, referencing and database searching. They are suitable for learners at any level from be-ginner to advance. Curriculum staff will need to book a 1-to-1 session for a students via LibCal.
Brief presentation about what Reading Ahead is about and registering online for the challenge. Reading Ahead is a challenge to help promote reading to support wellbeing and improve reading skills.
An in-depth session to demonstrate LibGuides (subject guides) that pull together all types of information about a particular subject or course of study. LibGuides contain information about the centres’ physical resources (books, databases, multimedia, etc) and a range of online resources. The session will give the students the essential skills to search for: Academic e-databases, e-journals, e-books and the Library catalogue.
This is a fun, interactive session in which students will use LRC resources to solve a crime. Students are given a crime scene scenario and a set of clues to solve. Using the library catalogue, databases and e-resources students can work individually, in pairs or groups to be the first to identify the crime’s perpetrator.
The session will cover the principles of Harvard Referencing, and provides an overview of why and when we use it. Students will learn how to reference books, journal articles and websites. They will also gain an insight into the pitfalls of plagiarism and copyright.
UCLAN (HE Only)
An introduction to the service provided by UCLan Library. Students will learn how to borrow UCLan books via Learning Resources Centres and how to search for relevant UCLan online resources, both on and off campus.
Pearson (HE Only)
An introduction to the HNGlobal website which is an exciting online platform created by Pearson for BTEC Higher National students, it hosts a great number of resources helping you to get the most out of your Higher National, you will gain access to;
>Textbooks available for download.
>Study skills modules
Academic Study Skills - Made Easy (HE Only)
An interactive session where students will identify aspects of their studying habits requiring development. Students will improve their metacognitive awareness, learning practical strategies to help with a range of academic study skills including: time management, note taking and higher order reading skills.
Underpinning Academic Success (HE Only)
This session will help students develop the skills and confidence needed to be expert and resilient learners. Students will take part in a range of activities designed to help them manage their expectations, set realistic goals and increase their motivation to succeed.
If you would like to book one of these sessions, please click on the following link. LibCal Booking Platform
Each subject LibGuide provides links to a wide range of key support information, which includes -
- LRC SmartSearch
- Textbooks & Ebooks
- Electronic Journals & Databases
- Referencing (Harvard)
- Help to boost your grades
- Employability skills
and much more...
Click the picture link opposite to show an example of a LibGuide.
Book Requests (Staff Only)
To ensure we have the relevant materials for your courses we would be happy to receive your recommendations for purchase.
Please download and complete the attached form.
Please email the completed form to the Academic Librarian email@example.com
Laptop Caddys / Surface Tablet Caddys and Clickers
All centres are equipped with Laptop and Surface tablet caddys these can be loaned to assist with your teaching if you're in a non computer room. These can be booked up to 7 weeks in advance. If you wish to have a recurring booking, please contact the LRC on firstname.lastname@example.org.
Click the link above to download instructions on how to book a caddy via LibCal.
Any queries just call into any Learning Resources centre and ask staff on the help desk for more information.
Clickers are available for loan from Learning Resources, which will help with your powerpoint presentations.
Offsite Laptop Loans / ALS Loans
If your students are unable to study in college or prefer to work at home; Learning Resources have offsite laptops which are available for a one month loan. Click on the image for more information.
If you have a student with additional needs, please speak to Additional Learning Support staff for more information. It may be possible to loan an offsite laptop for the whole academic year.
LibCal is our booking service where you are able to book different services. The services we offer that are bookable via this service are:
- Meeting Rooms
- Equipment (Classroom Caddies)
- Appointments (LRC/ALS Research Sessions)
For more information, please contact email@example.com
If you need help using the booking service, the full user guide is attached below:
Staff Book Club
Staff book club is held at Parsons Walk campus, please click the image opposite for dates of meetings throughout the year. Whether you're an avid reader or just want to expand your reading and try something new.
We also have a great selection of fiction books in all our Learning Resource Centres.
For more information please speak to any of the Learning Resources team.