Edge Hill Archive
The Edge Hill University Archive is the repository for prints and visual history for the institution from its foundation in 1885.
The University was originally opened as Edge Hill College in 1885 in Liverpool and was the first non-denominational teacher training college for women. In the 1930s, the college moved to Ormskirk and during the Second World War was evacuated to Bingley, Yorkshire, with the Ormskirk site requisitioned for use as a military hospital. Therefore, the archive is a significant legacy for the history of teacher training and women’s education, as well as broader social histories.
The University also hold, and are actively seeking, collections that support the teaching, learning and research interests of the University.
The expansion of Edge Hill in recent decades means its history has a great deal to tell us about the development of higher education in Britain as well as the changing experiences of those who studied and were employed here. Each milestone changed and broadened the horizons of what Edge Hill University is today.
Access
The archive manages enquiries and makes material available for use Monday – Thursday 9am- 5pm. Please note that all archive appointments must be pre-booked. Please visit the Online Archive Catalogue to discover more about and browse their collections. However, many of these collections are still being catalogued and gradually added to the site, so please contact the archive service if you are interested in something that you cannot find in the catalogue.
Get in Touch
Email: lsarchives@edgehill.ac.uk
Tel: 01695 59 9704
Home Page: https://www.edgehill.ac.uk/departments/support/ls/edge-hill-archive/