Learning Resources: ESOL: Databases & Journals

Researching for Assignments

Journals cover a range of sources, including newspapers; magazines and scholarly journals. News and research around your subject area are usually published first in journals.

A journal can be useful:

to find up-to-date information
to find our what has been researched on your topic
to find information that points to other relevant research

Databases enable you to find journal articles and reports which have been written around your topic. Sometimes they will provide just a summary of the article or a link to the full online article itself.

LRC Smart Search

Useful databases for ESOL

Issues Online This link opens in a new window
The on-line version of the 'Issues' series. This online reference resource provides up-to-date information on contemporary issues. Select PSHE subjects at the top of the screen. Select Citizenship and Participation and follow the link to 'Citizenship in the UK'.

Useful Journals

English Magazine
This is a free magazine developed by the Learn English Network. The content is divided into several columns. The “Language Articles” section is the most relevant for any English learner. It provides tips for all aspects of English learning such as internet slang, the various types of English, online learning, grammar and even the history of certain words.
Learn English Magazine
Do you want to practise your reading and learn about global issues, special days and festivals? Making reading fun by using English magazines! It's the easiest way to develop your English reading skills and learn more about interesting topics. Articles are written for intermediate and upper intermediate learners. From the ‘Skills’ section – choose from Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking.
EnglishClub.com
Ease into English with EnglishClub’s ESL Magazine.
Here you’ll find short readings in easy English. From real-life news, to recipes, reviews, bios and fun facts – there’ll be something for everyone

General Interest Journals

Autocar
Autocar is a weekly British automobile magazine published by the Haymarket Media Group. It was first published in 1895 and refers to itself as "the world's oldest car magazine". Hardcopy available at Pagefield Library.
Condé Nast Traveller Magazine
Award-winning features, destination guides, and the most beautiful travel photography, for people who love travel
Fusion Flowers
Magazine for Contemporary Floral Design, Flower Arranging, Floristry Courses, Wedding Floral Design, Flower Design. Hardcopy available in Parson’s Walk Library
Glamour
Glamour is your guide to the latest beauty trends and expert knowledge, fashion and entertainment news.
Good Food
BBC Good Food, the UK's no.1 food magazine, is a must for everyone who loves .Each issue is packed with over 80 new recipes. Hardcopy available in Parson’s Walk Library
New Musical Express (NME)
New Musical Express (NME) (IPC Magazines Ltd) Open Access NSA collection Mostly news about artists, including charts, forthcoming concerts. Some news about record labels.

ESOL: Databases & Journals

Researching for Assignments

LRC Smart Search

Discover@W&LC

Useful databases for ESOL

Useful Journals

General Interest Journals