Learning Resources: Electrical & Electronics Engineering: Recommended Websites

Government & Professional Bodies

There are many websites which you will find useful for your studies, I have listed some of the most popular ones below. Please let me know if there are other websites which you feel others may wish to know about and I will include them on this page.

Audio Engineering Society The Audio Engineering Society is the only professional society devoted exclusively to audio technology. The AES serves its members, the industry and the public by stimulating advances in the constantly changing field of audio.
Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council The EPSRC is the main UK government agency for funding research and training in engineering and the physical sciences.
Engineering Council The Engineering Council sets and maintains the internationally recognised standards of professional competence and ethics that govern the award. This ensures that employers, government and wider society - both in the UK and overseas - can have confidence in the knowledge, experience and commitment of professionally registered engineers and technicians
Gov.uk – Centre for Connected and Autonomous Vehicles Part of the Department for Transport and Department for Business, Energy & Strategy.
Health & Safety Executive HSE) protects people against risks to health or safety arising out of work activities, through research, information and advice, promoting training, new or revised regulations and codes of practice, inspection, investigation and enforcement
Health & Safety in the Engineering industry This website from the HSE, will help you manage typical engineering industry risk. The engineering industry guidance is currently under review and new and revised content will be published here over the coming months.
Institute of Acoustics UK acoustics organisation's homepage with information on its meetings and some feature articles
Institute of Engineering and Technology The IET is one of the world’s largest engineering institutions with over 168,000 members in 150 countries. It is also the most multidisciplinary – to reflect the increasingly diverse nature of engineering in the 21st century
Institute of Sound and Communications Engineers The Institute of Sound & Communications Engineers Ltd (ISCE) is a professional organisation for those working in the public address, voice alarm, sound system, hearing loop systems, audio-video, intercoms, acoustics, or any other such sector in the sound and communications industry.
International Institute of Communications The IIC exists to help shape the policy agenda for the telecoms, media and technology industries.
IOSH (Institute of Occupational Safety and Health) An independent, not-for-profit organisation that sets professional standards, supports and develops members and provides authoritative advice and guidance on health and safety issues
Royal Academy of Engineering The UK’s national academy for engineering takes a lead on engineering education, invests in the UK’s world-class research base to underpin innovation and works to improve public awareness and understanding of engineering.
SPIE The International society for optics and photonics, promoting an interdisciplinary approach to the science and application of light

The Electricity at Work Regulations 1989

HSR25 (Third edition) Published 2015
This new edition of HSR25 will help dutyholders meet the requirements of the
Electricity at Work Regulations 1989. It will be of interest and practical help to all
dutyholders, particularly engineers (including those involved in the design,
construction, operation or maintenance of electrical systems), technicians and their
managers.

Industry Reports

AI and Automation in the Construction industry
A 2021 report from the CITB looks at a range of scenarios for the pace of technological change in construction which will inform the forthcoming CLC Future Skills Plan.
CCC 2021 - Independent Assessment of UK Climate Risk
The Adaptation Committee’s Independent Assessment of UK Climate Risk sets out the priority climate change risks and opportunities for the UK.
Engineering Ethics in practice: a guide for Engineers
This guide is addressed to the professional engineering community. The United Kingdom Standard for Professional Engineering Competence , published by the Engineering Council, it aims to support members of this community in addressing the ethical issues they face in their daily professional lives, helping them to identify, analyse and respond effectively to the challenges these issues raise
Ethical Principles – A Statement from the RAEng
The Engineering Council and the Royal Academy of Engineering have jointly created a Statement of Ethical Principles for all engineering professionals
The future of manufacturing: a new era of opportunity & challenge for the UK
This report looks at how manufacturing is set to enter a dynamic new phase, driven by rapid changes in technology, new ways of doing business, global competition and potential volatility around the price and availability of resources. It makes recommendations for government and industry to ensure that the UK manufacturing sector is able to compete and thrive in this new world.
Net Zero Strategy: Build Back Greener – Oct 2021
This strategy sets out policies and proposals for decarbonising all sectors of the UK economy to meet our net zero target by 2050.

Patents

British Library – Patents Collections Extensive collections on business management, patents and trade marks
Espacenet Espacenet offers free access to more than 70 million patent documents worldwide, containing information about inventions and technical developments from 1836 to today.
European Patent Office The official website of the European Patent Office (EPO). Find information on applying and searching for patents, legal issues on patents, patent grants, rules and regulations about European and international patent applications. Explore engineering careers and apply for jobs in engineering.
Intellectual Property Office The Intellectual Property Office (IPO) is the official UK government body responsible for intellectual property (IP) rights including patents, designs, trade marks and copyright.
World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO) WIPO was created in 1967 "to encourage creative activity, to promote the protection of intellectual property throughout the world". WIPO currently has 191 member states, administers 26 international treaties, and is headquartered in Geneva, Switzerland.

Podcasts

Looking for a way to learn more about your subject area without reading? Consider listening to podcasts that may help to increase your knowledge.

Podcasts vary in quality, frequency and reliability, so make sure you evaluate them before using the information for an assignment.

Labcast (the Media Lab) from MIT Labcast (a video podcast) connects educators and students with radical future technologies being designed to enable people to create a better tomorrow. Discover cutting edge research and applications including coding for kids, 3D printing, robotics and responsive home design. Simply filter your search via ‘Select Group’.
University of Birmingham “Each Predictor Podcast features one of our academic experts discussing current and future research in their specialist field. The podcasts are intended to provide a quick route to insider knowledge on new trends and upcoming key issues. The series covers a wide range of topics, from energy and archaeology to animal intelligence and food engineering.”
University of Oxford - Engineering Science Lectures A range of lectures and talks from the Department of Engineering at the University of Oxford

Useful websites

3DPrinting.com What is 3D printing? - 3DPrinting.com was founded back in 2011 with the goal to be a leading global source for everything about 3D printing. Focussing not only on news and developments in the industry, but also on educational articles.
arXiv.org arXiv.org is an eprints repository with over 438,000 articles in physics, maths, computer science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Statistics, Electrical Engineering and Systems Science, and Economics. arXiv is owned and operated by Cornell University, a private not-for-profit educational institution
BookBoon.com Provides access to over 140 free e-books on a variety of different aspects of Engineering including Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Nanotechnology
CircuitLab CircuitLab, Inc. provides an in-browser online electronics design tool for schematic capture and circuit simulation needs. Its tool allows students, hobbyists, and professional engineers to design, analyze, build, share, and discuss their analog and digital electronics systems before building prototypes.
Electrical Engineering – Khan Academy A personalized learning resource for all ages. Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom
Electronic Design Electronic Design is an independent information source for electronics engineers that provide must-have, fully comprehensive coverage of the electronics industry through its vast network of experts. Electronic Design covers the technologies required for engineers to make the right design decisions at the right time
The Engineer Daily updates and news releases from engineering suppliers, including electronics companies
Engineering.com Access over 2000 articles per year, free online collaboration whiteboards, messaging services, AI, and key partnerships in academia and some of the most powerful technology companies in the world
Engineer Live News and reviews across a wide range of engineering fields. Plus - subscribe to a free weekly NewsBrief
Geometry - Khan Academy A personalized learning resource for all ages. Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom
How Stuff Works - Electronics HowStuffWorks is an American commercial educational website founded by Marshall Brain to provide its target audience an insight into the way many things
IEEE Spectrum – Robotics With Subtopics on A.I, DIY Robots, Industrial Robots, Sensors & Actuators and Robotics Software
IET: E&T Students Articles aimed Engineering & Technology Students from the IET
Learn about Electronics The site for learning about electronics technology. Has sections on Circuits & Resistors, Amplifiers, Oscillators, AC theory and much more
Maths Tutor Math Tutor provides video tutorials, diagnostic tests and exercises for various areas of mathematics. How to use Mathtutor? Clicking a title from the left hand 7 subjects will open up a list of topics, each one having a video tutorial, support text, diagnostic test and an exercise to do.
The Orocos Project - Open Robot Control Software The Orocos Project “Open Robot Control Software” . This website is a home for portable C++ libraries for advanced machine and robot control.
Oxbotica: autonomous vehicles The Oxford-based artificial intelligence company is testing autonomous vehicles on UK roads thanks to a project funded by Innovate UK
SciCentral Gateway to online scientific and engineering research plus breaking research news
Signal Processing Information Base (SPIB) Serves as a repository of datasets for both signal processing researchers and applications engineer, seeking to provide suitable ways for testing algorithms, systems, and applications under more realistic operating
Spectrum from ieee IEEE Spectrum is the flagship magazine and website of the IEEE, the world's largest professional organization devoted to engineering and the applied sciences
TECHONLINE Contains articles and information on topics such as digital processing

Energy - including Renewables & Statistics

Alternative Energy Alternate Energy.org is not a scientific organization but a hobby group for people with a keen interest in alternative energy solutions. The content is for the general public wishing to be kept informed of developments or have a likewise interest on the Alternate Energy fields and not designed for scholars and researchers wanting to quote or cite their content though they may do so.
Carbon Trust Independent company funded by the government to help move the UK to a low carbon economy through commercial development of low carbon technologies.
Climate Change Committee The Climate Change Committee (CCC) is an independent, statutory body established under the Climate Change Act 2008.
Department for Energy Security & Net Zero Provides access to a vast array of statistics, publications, legislation and policy documents.
Digest of UK Energy Statistics (DUKES) DUKES (Annual data) gives statistics and trends in the renewable energy sector in the United Kingdom.
Energy Institute Royal Charter membership organisation for the energy industries representing almost 12,000 professionals nationally and internationally.
Energy Saving Trust Non-profit organisation set up by the government which aims to achieve the sustainable and efficient use of energy, to cut the carbon dioxide emissions which are the key contributor to global warming.
Energy trends and price statistical release – February 2019 The latest provisional monthly energy production, consumption and prices statistics produced by the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy.
Energy UK The trade association for the energy industry. Promotes the interests of members who generate electricity including those from renewable energy technologies.
European Forum for Renewable Energy Sources (EUFORES) Non-profit making organisation aims to promote the use of renewable energy.
IEEE Spectrum – Energy With Subtopics on Environment, Fossil Fuels, Nuclear, Renewables and The Smarter Grid
International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) The United Nations agency promoting peaceful uses of nuclear energy. The “About Us” page includes a link to “Procurements and Business Opportunities”.
International Energy Agency An intergovernmental body advancing security of energy supply, economic growth and environmental sustainability through energy policy co-operation.
National Energy Foundation An independent charity that works to improve the use of energy in buildings.
Our World in Data – Energy Our World in Data (OWID) is a scientific online publication that focuses on large global problems such as poverty, disease, hunger, climate change, war, existential risks, and inequality.
Renewables statistics Energy trends and regional data
renewableUK Trade and professional body for the UK renewable energy industry. Formerly the British Wind energy Association, it still has a certain bias towards wind energy. Describes itself as “The voice of wind and marine energy”.
Source Guide - Source for Renewable Energy Buyers guide to more than 18,000 renewable energy businesses and organizations worldwide. Find renewable energy businesses by geographic location, product type, business type and name, or search for renewable energy businesses using keywords.
UK Energy Research Centre Co-ordinating body that carries out research into sustainable energy systems at a number of laboratories across the UK.
World Energy Council (WEC) Global multi-energy organisation with Member Committees in over 90 countries. Organisation covers all types of energy including renewable sources.
World Renewable Energy Network (WREN) Non-profit organisation affiliated to UNESCO aims to promote the communication and technical education of scientists, engineers, technicians and managers and to apply itself to the energy needs of developing and developed countries.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is Google's academic search engine. It allows you to search for information published in journals and books, for example. It includes an increasing amount on open access material as well content that you would have to pay to access.

Use Google Scholar alongside the many databases that the College subscribes to so you get relevant and accurate content.

Electrical & Electronics Engineering: Recommended Websites

Evaluating websites