Learning Resources: Computing & IT: Textbooks & eBooks

Subjects and Shelfmarks in the Library

Subject Sub-sections	Class number
ActionScript	006.7869
Cascading style sheets	006.76 CSS
Computer Animation	006.696
Computer Games	794.8
Computer Security	005.8
Data Protection Law	342.0858
Database Management	005.74
Dreamweaver	006.78 DRE
Human Computer Interaction	004.019
Image Processing: digital techniques	006.686
Information Technology	004
Maintenance and Upgrades; PC’s	004.16
Management Information Systems	658.4038
Mark Up languages	006.74
Networks	004.6
Object Oriented Design	005.117
Office (Microsoft)	005.5 OFF
Operating Systems	005.43
PHP & MySQL	005.72 or 006.76
Programming Languages	005.133
Relational Databases	005.7565
Software Engineering	005.1
Spreadsheets	005.54
Systems Analysis	004.21
User Interfaces	005.437

Cannot Find What You Are Looking For?

Is the book out on loan? - Place a hold
Is the book at another library site? - Place a hold
Is the book not held by the library at all? - Use the Inter library loan service to borrow it from another library
Recommend a book? - Contact your Subject Specialist or Librarian if you would like to recommend a book we should buy for the library.

Looking for a Book We Don't Have?

If you are looking for a book which is not held in any of our libraries, you can ask us to borrow it from another library through the Inter-Library Loans system.

Search the Library Catalogue

The Library has a huge range of textbook and eBook titles to meet your needs.

Textbooks can be a great place to start your research, but remember that demand can be high, so you'll need to plan in advance. Use the Library Catalogue to check what books the library has available.

eBooks are a quick and easy way to access material. They are available on or off campus and can be used 24 hours a day. If you own a tablet device, these books can be viewed easily wherever you have a connection to the internet. These titles also allow limited printing.

You can access our textbook and eBook collections through the Library Catalogue

Ebooks are included in the library catalogue, however, you may also wish to use the ebook platforms themselves.

Unless otherwise indicated, to access these ebooks platforms click on the link and enter your Network username and password when prompted:

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Ebook Central is the access route to the FE e-books collection. The Core Collection supports students in a broad range of subject areas: arts and humanities, business management and general, education and childcare, health and life sciences, ICT, travel and tourism, key skills including maths, science and engineering, social sciences, and vocational. Currently the collection has 639 titles.
eBooks for FE/HE Collection (UK) This link opens in a new window
Offering locally relevant UK content, this is a tailored package containing more than 5,000 e-books from leading UK publishers include Hodder Education Group, Bloomsbury UK and noteworthy authors. Subject Coverage Includes:
Art, Business and management, Child development and early years
Computers and IT, Culinary arts, Education, Fashion and design
Health and social care, History, Languages ,Media, Performing arts
Sport, leisure, physical education and fitness, Technology and engineering
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
VLeBooks is a fantastic new way for you to access your eBook catalogue,
empowering you with a quick and easy way to access texts.
Categories are - Art & Photography, Biography, Business, Finance and Law, Children's, Computing, Education , Food & Drink, Health & Lifestyle, History & Transport, Hobbies & Games, Home &, Garden, Mind, Body, Spirit, Music, Stage & Screen, Politics, Philosophy & Religion, Reference, Reference & Languages, Scientific, Technical and Medical and Sport. The list continues to grow!

A selection of ebooks for your subject

Advanced standard SQL dynamic structured data modeling and hierarchical processing

Learning Python: learn to code like a professional with Python--an open source, versatile, and powerful programming language

Agile Software Architecture : Aligning Agile Processes and Software Architectures

Responsive web design with HTML5 and CSS3 : build responsive and future-proof websites to meet the demands of modern web users

Creating data-driven web sites : an introduction to HTML, CSS, PHP, and MySQL

Microsoft Office 365: Exchange Online implementation and migration

BTEC National Computing Student Book

R data mining : implement data mining techniques through practical use cases and real-world datasets

Call Numbers Explained

When you enter the details of the item that you want on the Library Catalogue it will display a call number that tells you where the item is shelved.

The call number will usually look something like this:

306.47 GEL

The combinations of letters and numbers gives a location based on the subject content of the item. The items are arranged on the shelves using the call numbers.

The library floor plan will show you where items with particular call numbers are stored.