Learning Resources: Nuclear Engineering: Databases & Journals

Researching for Assignments

Journals cover a range of sources, including newspapers; magazines and scholarly journals. News and research around your subject area are usually published first in journals.

A journal can be useful:

to find up-to-date information
to find our what has been researched on your topic
to find information that points to other relevant research

Databases enable you to find journal articles and reports which have been written around your topic. Sometimes they will provide just a summary of the article or a link to the full online article itself.

Combining your search terms with 'AND' will narrow the time your search takes to produce fewer, more specific resources.

Combining your search terms with OR will broaden out your search to include related words and concepts, producing more results.

LRC Smart Search

Useful databases for Nuclear Engineering

Applied Science & Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window
Core literature in the applied sciences, this database provides full-text professional and scholarly journals, specialized subject periodicals, directories and conference proceedings.
Includes indexing and abstracts for English-language scientific and technical publications dating back to 1983. It also includes full-text articles dating back to 1990 and page images with original illustrations, charts and photographs.

CORE This link opens in a new window
CORE is a not-for-profit service delivered by The Open University and Jisc. CORE’s mission is to aggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to 80M full-text research resources for all

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A completely customizable general reference solution for learners and librarians. Its full-text, aggregated content covers every major subject from the world's best publishers of reference. A selection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesaurus and books of quotations, plus a range of subject-specific titles.

Croner-i Health & Safety Expert - Registration Sign Up This link opens in a new window
Croner-i Health and Safety Expert provides a complete and comprehensive view of UK health and safety law and best practice.
Before you can access Croner-i Health and Safety Expert you need to register using your college email account.
Once registered use the following URL https://tinyurl.com/97vvpspd
Areas covered are - Accidents & First Aid, Building & Construction, Chemical Hazards, Environment, Fire, Food Safety, Legal & Management Responsibilities, Machinery & Work Equipment, Occupational Health & Wellbeing, Security & Emergency Planning, Workforce, Visitors & Contractors, Workplace Hazards & Health.

EBSCOhost database This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost Databases contain a vast wealth of FULL TEXT and Abstract Journal articles. This link will take you to a single search box that will allow you to search through all our EBSCO subscribed databases in one go. There is also the option to limit your search to individual databases

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Find articles and other information from the journals, proceedings and standards published by IEEE and by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Full-text is from 1988 to present with some selected earlier content.

Issues Online This link opens in a new window
The on-line version of the 'Issues' series, this online reference source provides up-to-date information on contemporary social issues taken from a wide range of sources including newspaper archives, articles, key facts, government statistics, and key organisations. Subjects include: Energy - Environmental & Global

SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad range of studies, including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies and social work.

In addition to full-text journals, SocINDEX with Full Text contains informative abstracts for core coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Complete with extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources, the database also includes searchable cited references.

Useful Jounals

Glossary of Nuclear Terms
The nuclear industry uses a unique array of jargon, terminology and acronyms, which can be bewildering and confusing to newcomers. Lawfirm Burges Salmon have produced this Glossary of Nuclear Terms to assist those new to the UK civil nuclear industry by explaining and de-mystifying some of the terminology that will be encountered on a daily basis. Understanding the terminology will lead to a greater understanding of the sector, its components and how it works.
Ingenia - from the Royal Academy of Engineering
Ingenia is a stimulating and informative quarterly magazine that publishes articles across the whole range of engineering disciplines. It is aimed at everyone with an interest in engineering, whether working in business and industry, government, academia or the financial community. Complex or technical engineering issues are made accessible, and will interest engineering enthusiasts of all ages. Hardcopy available at Pagefield Library
Spectrum from ieee - Energy
IEEE Spectrum is the flagship magazine and website of the IEEE, the world's largest professional organization devoted to engineering and the applied sciences
The Engineer
The Engineer is a London-based monthly magazine and website covering the latest developments and business news in engineering and technology in the UK and internationally. Get the latest engineering news, analysis and jobs across all engineering sectors and disciplines.

Alphabetical List of Electronic Resources

As well as the individual subject databases listed above, you may wish to access our full list of resources which cover other subject areas.

A-Z Database

Understanding An Article Reference

A correctly formatted reference will tell you exactly where to find the full article:

DING, Y., JACOB, E. K., ZHIXIONG, Z., FOO, S., ERJIA, Y., GEORGE, N. L. and LIJIANG, G. (2009) Perspectives on social tagging, Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology, 60 (12), 2388-2401.

This article was written by Y Ding & colleagues, and the article's title is "Perspectives on social tagging". It was published in 2009 in the journal called "Journal of the American Society for Information Science and Technology". It was published in volume 60, issue 12, and the article ran from page 2388 to 2401.

Nuclear Engineering: Databases & Journals