Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

The Learning Resources Guide: Brief Video Guides

Brief Video Guides

Video Guides

Video Title

(Click to view)

Video Description

Our click & Collect Library Service

How to use the online catalogue to place a 'hold' on a library item.

Access your college email

How to access your college email.
Office 365 Your free Microsoft Office 365 account gives you access to a range of online versions of key Microsoft Apps (Including Word, Excel, Powerpoint), as well as access to your college email (via Outlook),  MS Teams, and a generous cloud-based storage area.  You may download a free copy of the MS Office 365 suite to install on your personal computer / tablet PC.
Referencing

This introductory guide covers the basics of referencing so that you may properly acknowledge the sources of information that you have included in your assignments and avoid plagiarism.

Discovering LibGuides An Introduction to our LibGuides information sharing platform which you may use to gain straightforward access to key information, LR services and online resources to support your learning.
Credo Reference

Credo Reference is a popular online resource that provides easily searchable content from thousands of short-article reference books such as dictionaries and encyclopedias.  A useful 'mind-mapping tool is included. You may find Credo Reference particularly useful when you need to obtain a clear overview of a topic.

This video provides a brief introduction to Credo Reference.

MyPC This brief video will introduce you to 'MyPC' which is our online computer booking system that you may use to make a reservation of a desktop computer in a LR Centre.
Accessing your Library Catalogue Account By logging into your personal Library Catalogue Account you will be able to place a 'hold' on an item that you wish to borrow, check your current / previous borrowing history as well as renew a current loan.  This short video will show you how to log into your account.
Accessing your Cloud Storage / 'W' Drive from home. When you are on college campus and using a college computer, the most  secure place to save your  files is your personal storage area on the college network. This is referred to your drive 'W'.  It is possible to access those files when you are off-campus using our WLCCloud Service.  This video explains provides a clear explanation.
eBooks The video shows you how to access the thousands of textbooks that are available online.
Discovery Tool Our Discovery tool (a.k.a. "LRC Smart Search") has the unique ability in being able to search through our library catalogue, eBook collections, and the majority of our online article databases and specialist information sources for items that match your search criteria.   

 

A to Z Menu